Sugbo Mercado: Chill Foodie Fest

I just flew into Cebu and it was my first weekend here. I haven’t been here for a while so it was a bit disorienting to see so many things changes since my last visit.

My cousins took me to Sugbo Mercado on a Saturday late afternoon and the shops were just setting up for the night. I was told that this was very similar to Mercato in BGC back in Manila but I wanted to keep an open mind (and stomach!) to what the stalls will offer.

6.jpg

There weren’t a lot of people when we arrived so I managed to get good shots of the stalls and the awesome set up of the eating area. I loved the chill vibe, the way the lights were set up, and the layout of the stalls. It reminded me of the chill Los Angeles vibe I vaguely recall from memory.

Here are some of the shots of my foodie fest at Sugbo Mercado!

21.jpg1.jpg

It is called a cookie shot! They pour cold milk in a cookie glass coated with chocolate. Another way to eat cookies and milk.

2.jpg

These churros were good, but it was really bready-y. It was heavy and the serving size was perfect for 1 person. The chocolate was  very rich.  I still personally prefer La Lola Churreria.

4.jpg

13.jpg17.jpg

My cousins love John Lemon and told me to try it out. I tried their Watermelon Basil Lemonade and it was the most refreshing thing I’ve drank in a long time. It cost only 50 PHP.

8.jpg9.jpg10.jpg7.jpg11.jpg

This is said to be the BEST MAC N CHEESE EVER!

12.jpg14.jpg34.jpg

Delicious chicken from Sr. Pedro plus pus0 (rice wrapped in coconut leaves).

18.jpg15.jpg

Make your own ice cream from Butterbean! Yes please! I got a vanilla ice cream dipped in milk chocolate, topped with almonds, sea salt, and oreo, and drizzled with dark chocolate.It cost only 6o PHP.

16.jpg19.jpg20.jpg22.jpg

The prices are mind-blowing! I didn’t think I’d get to eat as much as I did for the price I paid. The food wasn’t just cheap, it was absolutely scrumptious. I felt the flavors explode in my mouth with every sip and bite.

I hope there is something similar to this in Manila. I’ve been to a couple of food bazaars before and this has to be one of the best experiences I’ve had. Apart from the music and the delicious food, the location was perfect and didn’t give me the claustophobic/i-can’t-breathe-anymore-because -of-the smoke vibe.

On the plus side, if you go there around  5pm, when the stalls have just started setting up, you’ll reach the golden hour and take amazing Instagram worthy shots!

5.jpg

Loved the first experience Sugbo Mercado! It’s a place people should check out when they’re in the city.

Sugbo Mercado is open Thursdays to Saturdays from 5 p.m. to 1 a.m. at The Garden Bloc, IT Park.

‘Til my next post lovelies.

Krisan


Note: All the images in this post belong to me. If you would like to use my image you are free to do so but please do not crop the image or blur the watermark. 

Leave a Reply

