{ event + play } Let’s Be Kawaii!~ : Kawaii in Manila 2

There will always be a place in my heart for my love for Japanese culture. It began when I was younger as I watched anime and folded origami. It was something I had been attached to as I was growing up that it became a part of who I was.

Traveling to Japan a few months ago was nothing short of a lifelong dream to be able to step on Japanese soil. I don’t want to talk more about it since I really want to blog about the adventures I had there.

Anyways, my friend told me about Kawaii in Manila 2. I didn’t know that there was a convention featuring Japanese Kawaii culture in the Philippines. It was something that brought the sparkle to my eyes, and I was already excited to go. I got my ticket in advance and waited for the day where I’d see fellow kawaii culture lovers.

Of course I had to dress the part. My friends and I were chatting on what clothes to wear and what style would suit us best. There are a lot of different styles of wearing clothes, especially in Harajuku. There are fairy kei, lolitas, visual kei, cosplay, maid style, hime, and so on. I decided to just go with a lace ensemble.

I was going to dye my hair pink, but it wouldn’t really match the vibe (or my outfit) I was going for.

KIM2 WM28

Dress is from HongKong

Vest is from Korea

Socks from Tutu Anna

Bag & Shoes from WEGO

Accessories from Bazaars + SOA

There were a lot of things to do at the event, and so many fun stalls to see and to buy from!

KIM2 WM21

There was free ice cream and cotton candy.

There was even an instax booth where you can take pictures and decorate them as cute souvenirs.

KIM2 WM12

They even had a cafe set up!

KIM2 WM11

Hodge Podge had the most adorable trinkets I’ve ever seen! I drowned in their kawaii-ness.

KIM2 WM22

Lucy Pop had a fitting room where you could try on the uniforms and get your picture taken. I really wanted to try, but the line was so long I just gave up and looked at others who tried on the cute uniforms.

KIM2 WM24

There was even a Kawaii workshop where you can learn how to work with polymer clay and do lettering.

KIM2 WM26

Loved the Art Gallery the had at the event. I wanted to take a few home with me because they were so lovely.

KIM2 WM18

One of the booths that caught my eye was the Dolly Wink booth. I already own a pair falsies from the brand, and I had to resist buying falsies from them again.

KIM2 WM6

There were special performances from Campus Royalties, Seishun Kakumei, and Rin & Satsuki. Tunes of Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, Crayon Pop, Perfume, Morning Musume and so much more filled the hall.

KIM2 WM16

KIM2 WM7

The fashion shows were some of the even highlights, I wasn’t able to take pictures of all of the shows though. There was the Kawaii fashion show featuring Dolly Kaye, Dorotee Sweetlips, Forestale, and La Princesse Doll. I personally fell in love with  the hime dresses.

KIM2 WM4

KIM2 WM3

There was also the Harajuku fashion show. Three of my close friends modeled in the Harajuku fashion show and I did my best to get pictures of all the clothes but there were just so many people trying to do the same! The clothes looked so good down the runway and the models wearing the clothes looked just like the cool harajuku kids on the Japan streets.

KIM2 WM9

There was also the Lucy Pop fashion show. My dreams of wearing a seifuku won’t be impossible now. Lucy Pop carries cute uniform sets where you can mix and match to suit your style or you can even buy a whole uniform set. Their ribbons were to die for, I felt like a kid in a candy store seeing all of these ribbons on display.

KIM2 WM19

KIM2 WM15

Rian Gonzales was amazing! She painted on the spot and her finished artwork was so beautiful.

KIM2 WM10

Tricia Gosingtian was also at the event. My friend Jam wanted to take a picture with her, and she took a picture of us! We’re one of the random people in her post on Kawaii in Manila 2.

Chai Mungcal was going around photographing attendees in their outfits of the day for Kawaii PH Looks. I don’t have a picture with her or of her, but she took pictures of me and my friends. I can’t wait to see how they’ll turn out.

KIM2 WM13

I wasn’t able to take a decent picture of Reese Lansangan, I had just arrived at the event and my first mission was to find my friends. I was able to catch her singing her last song, and I really enjoyed listening to her ( plus I like her hair ).

There was also a Kawaii Girl and Ikemen Guy Contest. The contestants showed off their talents, style, and personality in order to be chosen as a Kawaii PH Ambassador.

There were so many fashionable people at the event, I really wish I had been able to take their pictures. I’ll do so the next time I go to an event like this. It’s really too bad, all I have are mental photographs of the kawaii looks they sported. Here are some of the pictures I was able to get at the event.

KIM2 WM14

KIM2 WM32

I’m such a fan of Studio Ghibli films. So I was fangirling over No Face, Kiki & Ponyo at the event.

KIM2 WM1

Hello there there Kyary Pamyu Pamyu cosplayer. She also performed Pon Pon Pon with Campus Royalties.

KIM2 WM5

There were so many beautiful lolitas at the event, but I couldn’t event take a decent picture of one lolita!

KIM2 WM2

Rainbowholic gave a speech at the last part of the event. I’m so thankful and so proud of her and her team for creating such an amazing event. It was such an awesome event that it’s the first event I’m blogging about! I really hope that there will be more Kawaii in Manila events. I’ll be sure to go to every time!

KIM2 WM27

The goodies I got in my loot bag for being an early bird ticket buyer!

KIM2 WM30

KIM2 WM29

I only bought a shirt from Kawaii PH and a lovely leather skirt from Elle Poupee.

KIM2 WM31

A picture with my friends, Arianne, Renz, Erujie & Jam,  outside the event. All of us are tired but happy and kawaii-energized. Thank you Red Rivera for taking our pictures!

Stay Kawaii~!

____________________________________________

Krisan SIG

One thought on “{ event + play } Let’s Be Kawaii!~ : Kawaii in Manila 2

  1. Pingback: Kawaii In Manila 2 Blog Entries | Kawaii in Manila 2: The First Philippine かわいい Convention

Leave a Reply

